Spain Confirm Their Final 23-Man World Cup Squad


Spain boss Vicente Del Bosque has announced his final 23-man World Cup Squad.

With a wealth of talent at his disposal, there were some notable stars who will miss out and be on standby for the competition in Brazil. Manchester City pair Jesus Navas and Alvaro Negredo are among the list of stars who missed the final cut, along with Juventus striker Fernando Llorente and full-backs Daniel Carvajal and Alberto Moreno. Highly-rated Bayern Munich midfielder Thiago Alcantara also misses out as injury robs him of his chance to compete.

Torres is perhaps the surprise inclusion in the squad, with the Chelsea striker struggling to find form this past season, but he did score from the penalty in Spain’s 2-0 win over Bolivia in last night’s friendly.

The full squad is as follows:

Goalkeepers: Iker Casillas ( Real Madrid), Pepe Reina (Liverpool) , David de Gea (Manchester United)

Defenders: Sergio Ramos (Real Madird), Gerard Pique (Barcelona), Raul Albiol (Napoli), Javi Martinez (Bayern Munich), Jordi Alba (Barcelona), César Azpilicueta (Chelsea), Juan Francisco Torres (Atletico Madrid)

Midfielders: Koke (Atletico Madrid), Xavi (Barcelona), Andres Iniesta (Barcelona), Sergio Busquets (Barcelona), Cesc Fabregas (Barcelona), Santi Cazorla (Arsenal), Pedro Rodriguez (Barcelona), Juan Mata (Manchester United), David Silva (Manchester City)

Forwards: Fernando Torres (Chelsea), David Villa (Atletico Madrid), Diego Costa (Atletico Madrid)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s