CHELSEA DIDN’T BELIEVE IN ME- STURRIDGE.

image

Daniel Sturridge has criticised his former club Chelsea, saying that they never believed in him as a striker.

The Liverpool and England hotshot has relished being played in his preferred central role with his return of 28 goals in 35 games in red, seeing him form the league’s most feared strike partnership with Luis Suarez.

“I was never sure if I’d play as a striker at Chelsea because people didn’t believe in me,” said the Liverpool forward who is currently enjoying the form of his life at the Merseyside club.

“I was often asked to play in a different position and to do a job for the team but, having been a striker and then being asked to just flick a switch and play on the wing was always going to be difficult, because mentally you’re going to play the way you always have and I play on instinct.

“I think that now I’m just playing the way that I did as a kid but I’d never had the chance to do that.

“When I was playing as a winger at Chelsea I was over-thinking it because I wasn’t used to doing it.”

In hindsight, Chelsea may now be regretting their decision to allow Sturridge to join one of their greatest rivals as he has managed to score more league goals than all of their current strikers put together this term. Sturridge’s strike at the Hawthorns saw him move on to 14 Premier League goals for the season while Samuel Eto’o, Fernando Torres and Demba Ba have managed only six, four and one respectively.

While Chelsea failed to believe in the undoubtedly talented front man, the faith Brendan Rodgers has shown in the 24-year-old has all but sealed his place on the plane to Brazil with the England squad this summer.

Leave a Reply

