I HAVE NO PROBLEM WITH JOSE MOURINHO – Romelu Lukaku

image

On-loan Chelsea striker Romelu Lukaku has told Dutch Sports magazine, Sport Voetbal, that there is no underlying issues between him and Jose Mourinho.

Lukaku spent last season on loan to West Brom, scoring 17 league goals in the process. Many thought that he would return to Chelsea to spearhead their attack under Mourinho this season. However, the big Belgian made a shock loan move to Everton on deadline day and ever since it has been suggested that the two had had some sort of falling out and their relationship had been the key to Lukaku leaving the club on loan.

There were a number of exchanges in the press over the course of the season alluding to the fact that something had happened between the two, but Lukaku squashed those rumours in a recent interview.

Speaking to Sport Voetbal, Lukaku explained his decision to leave Chelsea on loan again this season;

“I’d first said I wanted to stay at Chelsea during the summer, and then I felt I had to leave to play more. It was my goal to do better than last season.”

“I’ve had Jose Mourinho as a coach for two months, he’s building the foundations of an unbeatable machine again. We didn’t have problems”

“He (Jose Mourinho) wanted me to stay and asked me why I wanted to leave.”

“In some interviews my words were twisted, but the truth is that he accepted to let me leave.”

“He did understand what I wanted. That’s what I really appreciate in him.”

Lukaku went on to say that he expects to return to Chelsea next season and become one of the greatest centre forwards in the league.

“Am I getting ready for Chelsea next season? Yes, why else would I have signed a contract for five years?

“I will return to Chelsea as one of the best strikers in the Premier League.”

Leave a Reply

